The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

by Catherine Chiu

  • The human spirit craves mastery over its carnal shell.
  • It was proven fact that human intuition was a more accurate detector of danger than all of the electronic gear in the world.
  • Sometimes a legend that endures for centuries . . . endures for a reason.
  • Open your minds, my friends. We all fear what we do not understand.
  • They were Deists – men who believed in God, but in a universal and open-minded way.
  • The only religious ideal they put forth was religious freedom.
  • What could possibly explain such a synchronicity of beliefs? Truth.
  • The question was how to die.
  • The most precious treasures are often the simplest.
  • “Know ye not that ye are gods?”
  • Abandon the search for God . . . instead, take yourself as the starting place.
  • Laus Deo. Praise God.
  • Where the mind is, there is the treasure.
  • “If the infinite had not desired man to be wise, he would not have bestowed upon him the faculty of knowing.” – Manly P. Hall
  • ‘Even if I could accept, just for an instant, that I have the power to change physical matter with my mind, and literally manifest all that I desire . . . I’m afraid I see nothing in my life to make me believe I have such power.
    She shrugged. ‘Then you’re not looking hard enough.’
  • Something about lying on our backs staring up at the heavens . . . opens the mind.
  • What I’m saying is this . . . two heads are better than one . . . and yet two heads are not twice better, they are many, many times better. Multiple minds working in unison magnify a thought’s effect . . . exponentially.
